16 comments on “SignalR with MVC3 | Chat App – Build asynchronous real-time persistant connection websites.

    • Lol! Its amazing what Signalr brings to the game. I had one look, my jaw dropped and my mind was blown.

  1. When I try to instal SignalR package in MVC3 project, I receive this error. Do you know a possible reason?
    Conflict occurred. ‘jQuery 1.5.1′ referenced but requested ‘jQuery 1.6.3′. ‘jQuery.vsdoc 1.5.1, jQuery.Validation 1.8.0, jQuery.UI.Combined 1.8.11′ depend on ‘jQuery 1.5.1′.

    • To be honest I’m under a very tight schedule trying to get GoldRemates off the ground and running well. I haven’t had that much time to tinker around with it, but I’m dying to!

      When you find something neat, please share your finds! :)

  2. I am trying to implement SignalR in my existing MVC3 application to send alerts to all connected client. I am using Persistent connection. Just to test this i have placed a broadcast button on _Layout page. Clicking on broadcast button sends some text using connection.send($(‘#msg’).val()); and is successfully received by the clients. But this only works when the message is broadcasted from first/default page when app loads. Once the page is redirected it looses the connection and on click of Croadcast button it throws error message “SignalR: Connection must be started before data can be sent. Call .start() before .send()”. Please advice.

  3. Hi,
    Nice article – unfortunately it doesn’t seem to work for me and I can’t seem to figure out what I’m missing. Could you make the project available for download please? It’s probably something silly that I’m missing.

    regards,
    Bill44077

    • Do you have something like Firebug installed? Run your MVC3 app and check in the Console tab to see if the connection is being made, or if an error if any is firing.

  4. I simply wanted to thank you very much all over again. I am not sure the things that I might have followed without the actual concepts discussed by you regarding this area. Certainly was a real frightening difficulty in my position, nevertheless viewing this expert mode you processed it forced me to jump for delight. I’m just grateful for your assistance and even wish you know what a great job you are always doing training other individuals using a web site. I’m certain you have never come across all of us.

Leave a Reply

